The Crestiad

Cedar Crest College newspaper since 1923

Books Like Fallign Leaves: A Cascade of New Titles

Rachel Morgandale, Arts Editor

Fall is always the perfect time to pick up a new title. We’re staying inside more, cozying up in the evenings, and maybe needing to escape from the stress of a new school year. This fall has an impressive crop of new, hotly anticipated titles from some of the best writers of the last decades. The number of sure to be bestsellers has book reviewers quaking in fear of not having enough time to read them all.

No matter what your reading taste, there’s sure to be something to excite you this season.

Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling– after her blockbuster Harry Potter series for young adults came to a close, Rowling turned her attention to something completely different. In her first novel for adults, she tells a comic, political story set in small town England.

Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan– best known for his novel turned film, Atonement, McEwan’s latest novel is set during the Cold War and tells the story of a young Englishwoman who finds herself recruited into MI5.

Joseph Anton by Salman Rushdie– this author of the controversial Satanic Verses and Midnight Children is back with a third person memoir about his years in hiding while the threat of being assassinated hung over him and his family.

This is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz– his debut novel, The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao garnered Diaz plenty of attention back in 2007. Now he returns with a new short story peppered with bilingualisms and telling tales of love in various forms and confusions.

NW by Zadie Smith– seven years after her acclaimed novel, On Beauty, Zadie Smith has returned. In this novel she tells the story of a group of thirty-somethings  who grew up in Northwest London. Some critics are lauding this as the more mature evolution of her first novel, White Teeth.

Back to Blood by Tom Wolfe– set in Miami, Wolfe’s latest novel attempts to dig into the subjects of race and immigration. After the underwhelming response to his 2004 novel,  I am Charlotte Simmons, many have high hopes for Wolfe’s literary return.

Advertisements

About Rachel

Rachel is a Senior English major with a Writing concentration and a Communication minor. She freelances on the side and recently wrote a mystery novel.

Post a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2012 by in Arts, September 20, 2012.
%d bloggers like this: