The Crestiad

Cedar Crest College newspaper since 1923

Not another Vampire Story: City of Bones Review

Emily Orischak, Staff Writer

Calling all fantasy readers! Let me introduce you to a series not revolving around vampires and werewolves. Cassandra Clare’s fantasy series, TheMortalInstruments, begins in City of Bones, where Clary Fray is introduced into the world of the shadowhunters while partying in a nightclub one night.

The unseen protectors of the human race, shadowhunters with angel blood ward off demons that appear on Earth with magical weapons and mystical runes. Questions arise when Clary is discovered to have the unusual ability to see the shadowhunters, Jace, Isabelle, and Alec even after their invisibility runes are written.

Events escalate when Clary’s mother is attacked by a demon and is put into a magic-induced coma. With no one else to turn to, Clary joins Jace and the others at and shadowhunter institute in hopes to solve the mystery of her mother’s illness.

During their investigation, the young group discovers that there is a larger, more powerful person behind the scenes pulling the strings. Questions about Clary’s past arise and it appears she may be more than what she appears. Throughout the book, other mythical creatures and beings appear as both friend and foe including werewolves, vampires, faeries, warlocks, and many more.

After reading the first five books in a series of six, I suggest to anyone who begins the series to have the next book on hand. Clare loves to end her books with a cliffhanger, something that drives me crazy.

Each book in the series is approximately 500 pages in length, but don’t let the size stop you; the books are so addictive that you will be wishing they were longer. I really enjoyed the series. It is captivating with a quick beginning to grab your attention, has an intricate plot with surprising twists to keep you engaged, and nail-biting cliffhangers to keeping you going and going like the energizer bunny. The film adaptation of City of Bones is coming out next year and the final book is released in March of 2014.

Below are listed the books from both of Clare’s series including The Infernal Devices which take place a few hundred years before The Mortal Instruments

The Mortal Instruments

City of Bones

City of Ashes

City of Glass

City of Fallen Angels

City of Lost Souls

City of Heavenly Fire (2014)

 The Infernal Devices

Clockwork Angel

Clockwork Prince

Clockwork Princess (2013)


About Rachel

Rachel is a Senior English major with a Writing concentration and a Communication minor. She freelances on the side and recently wrote a mystery novel.

Post a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on September 18, 2012 by in Arts, September 20, 2012.
%d bloggers like this: